When American Legion Auxiliary Harry W. Lindberg Unit 151 of Scranton sponsored the 2023 Americanism Essay Contest, little did they know that one of those essays would be a winner on the National level. Unit members judged Americanism essays written by students at Scranton Public Schools. Three of the essays were Department winners in their individual group. The winners were Blake Pierce, Kiley Mausehund, and Sonora Stoltzfus. The winning essays were then sent on to Northwestern Division and National for judging. One of the essays written at Scranton was a first place winner in her class from Northwestern Division at the National level. The winner is Kiley Mausehund.

Mr. Richard Norton, the history teacher who assigned the essay to his students, has done this as part of his curriculum for many years. Members of Unit 151 thank Mr. Norton for helping his students to expand their thinking and helping them grow into citizens that are the future of our country.

On October 27, 2023, an assembly was held at Scranton School to honor contest winner Kiley Mausehund. Mr. Norton, who now resides in Bison, SD, traveled to Scranton for the ceremony. Norton is quoted as saying, "I wouldn't miss this. She is my first national winner." We are fortunate to have such dedicated teachers as role models for our young citizens.

Unit 151 President Terry Freymiller presented a certificate to Kiley Mausehund, now a freshman at Scranton High School. Kiley read her essay to the assembly. The inspiration for her essay was her dad, Paul Mausehund, who served in the US Army from 1998 to 2012.

Kiley is the daughter of Paul and Corrine Mausehund of Scranton. The award event was attended by Kiley's parents; Bob and Kathy Kromerak, grandparents; Laci Coates, County Veterans Service Officer; Bill Schaar, Post 151 Legionnaire; and Unit 151 Auxiliary members Dianne Pierce, Carla Teske, Cindy Miller, and Terry Freymiller. Students and staff of the Scranton Public Schools were also in attendance.

Congratulations on a job well done!

Article and photo submitted by: Unit President Terry Freymiller