

AMERICAN LEGION AUXILIARY • DEPARTMENT OF NORTH DAKOTA 1801 23rd Ave N - Room 113, Fargo, ND 58102-1047 • 701-253-5992 secretary@ndala.org • www.ndala.org

August 25, 2020

Dear Department Officers, Chairmen, Unit Presidents and ALA Unit Officers and Members,

Since early Fall 2019, Diane Kraemer, Constitution and Bylaws Chairman and her committee members have collaborated to revise the Department of North Dakota's governing documents which include the Department Constitution and Bylaws and the Department's Standing Rules. This assignment was a result of the 2019 National Convention vote to revise the National organization's governing documents.

The first revisions by the Constitution and Bylaws Committee were completed in December 2019 and the first reading was held at the Department Executive Committee meeting held at the 2020 Winter Conference. In response to questions and concerns heard at the first reading, the team determined that further clarification and revisions of the documents were needed.

With an eye to the future of our organization and the many issues we have all experienced in the past few months the team felt it was imperative that we not only incorporate clarity in the Department Constitution and Bylaws but clarity and cost saving measures in the Department Standing Rules as well.

Now, it is your turn to review the documents that will govern this Department for the foreseeable future. Please share and study them carefully with your unit members and write your questions and concerns down. Send your questions to your District President no later than December 31, 2020. Those concerns will be addressed, and the governing documents will be reviewed again by the Department Executive Committee, which includes your District President at the 2021 Winter Conference.

The completed revised documents will then be presented to the General Assembly at the 2021 Department Convention for approval by the body of the American Legion Auxiliary Department of North Dakota.

Diane Kraemer, Department Constitution and Bylaws Chairman

Marcy J. Schmidt, Department Secretary, and Committee Member

Sharon White Bear, Department Vice President, and Committee Member

Judy Twete, Past Department President, Past Northwest Division National VP, and Committee Member

Warlene Simundson, President Unit 227, and Committee Member

7ammy Ryberg, NEC, and Committee Member